

THE TOMPION MEDAL

Prizewinners

- **1954 Mr W.H. Shortt** for the invention, in 1925, of the Shortt Free Pendulum which, for over thirty years remained the standard timekeeper at observatories throughout the world.
- 1955 Mr W.A. Morrison (USA) for work on the development of the quartz crystal clock.
- **1957 Dr Louis Essen** for his development of the Essen Ring Quartz-crystal oscillator, and of the first Atomic Clock of high precision.
- **1963 Mr Max Hetzel** (a Swiss citizen working in the USA) for his development of the tuning fork as a method of timekeeping in a wrist watch (Bulova Accutron).
- **1980 Dr George Daniels CBE** for outstanding feats of craftsmanship, skill, innovation and artistry in designing and making watches with mechanical movements, of absolute perfection; backed by his attributes as an author of horological books and publications.
- 1992 Dr L. V. Morrison and Dr R. Stephenson for their work on variations in the rate of the rotation of the earth.
- **1996 Dr Bernard Guinot** for his contributions to the implementation of Co-ordinated Universal Time (OTC).
- **2000 Dr Patrick Gill** for his contributions to the pursuit of an ultimate frequency standard, and to education in horology.
- **2002 Dr Terry Quinn FRS** for his work at the NPL and at the BIPM in Sèvres, on the science of measurements in general.
- **2005 Mr Derek Pratt** for outstanding contributions to horology; a top class watch and clock maker; his ingenuity, technical ability and curiosity have helped to solve a variety of prototype and production problems; a supreme artist-craftsman.
- **2007 Mr Anthony Randall**. An outstanding horologist who has made an immense contribution to horology over a period of more than forty years.
- 2009 Dr Philip Woodward DSc for services to precision mechanical horology.