

## THE HARRISON MEDAL

## **Prizewinners**

**2002 – Jonathan Betts** for his work in the furtherance of horological knowledge and its dissemination in the wider field at the National Maritime Museum, and elsewhere.

2004 - Dava Sobel for her internationally acclaimed book on John Harrison: 'Longitude'.

**2006 – Sir Arnold Wolfendale** for his outstanding work and inspirational leadership in initiating and master-minding the commemoration of John Harrison by a memorial in the nave of Westminster Abbey.

**2007 – Mr William Andrewes** – Much of his distinguished career and internationally acclaimed literary work has been spent in propagating knowledge of the great John Harrison and his works and celebrating his achievements.

**2009 – Mr David Thompson** for services to the history and technology of horology.

**2012 – Mr David Poole** is a horologist of very many talents who has contributed mightily to many aspects of horology and to the prestige of the Worshipful Company of Clockmakers. His special forte is that of the education of horologists of all ages by way of teaching, examining, authoring books and organizing charitable support. His publicising of the historical aspects of clockmaking plays a prominent part in his work as do examples drawn from his own brilliant practical experience.

**2017 – Sir George White** for his dedicated service as Keeper of the Clockmakers' Collection for thirty years including the cataloguing of the Collection, two re-displays of the Collection at Guildhall and its move to, and re-display at, the Science Museum in 2014–15.