The Clockmakers’ Library, which is housed in the Guildhall, was founded in 1814. A Court Minute of the 2nd November 1813 records that Mr F.J.Barraud gave notice that at the next Court he would move that ‘it is expedient that this Company should possess and from time to time procure such books, pamphlets and tracts as have been written and published respecting and appertaining to the subject of the art placed under the government of this corporation’. On the 10th January 1814 the motion was resolved unanimously. Today the library contains over one thousand printed items, a collection of prints, portraits and photographs and some unique manuscript material including the Company’s records. These are all available for inspection.
The earliest catalogue was produced in 1830. The most recent illustrated catalogue was produced in 1977 by Liveryman John Bromley, being a revision of the 1951 catalogue by G.H.Baillie. Sadly this catalogue is out of print but available, with searching, from second hand booksellers.